The story of the torn kurta

I wish I could have named it better.

So here it goes:

Taking a cycle rikshaw from the place of temporary accommodation to place of wedding. Never been in Patna before. Interesting though the power cuts will kill you. Rocking night life but.

So said rickshaw takes us to the place and we disembark. And I hear a faint sound from the bum region which sounds familiar but I can’t quite place it. And we walk in, the shiny lights and that annoying chap with the camera. And we walk towards the newly weds with their look of completely zombiness.

And we congratulate them and walk back. When a smiling old man, pats me on the back and tells me that there is a giant hole in the kurta.  Which is where the header pic comes into play.

Smiling. Oh so fuckin funny.

And the thoughts go back in time and the vaguely familiar sound is connected to that made when cloth is torn cause your hand was on it and then you pulled it away.

Sonofabitch.

So my first reaction is to play the “Oh yeah I know, its for the ventilation” bit but no one bought it. For some strange reason.

I did contemplate tucking the bloody thing in (ok that sounded way better in my head) but that would probably have gotten even more laughs.

Anyway, as things stand, it was not as mortifying as realising the reason why those laadies were smiling at me was coz me fly was open. However, it was definitely a tad more embarrassing than the time I accidentally tried on a skirt thinking it was a pair of shorts.

It takes quite some doing to get me going on the shame train.

There was this one time when a dear friend and me decided to play “race race” right on mg road. That was fun. Of course that was when there were trees on the other side, the beautiful boulevard and those bastards had not started a frikkin environmental disaster in the name of modernisation.

And another time when there was an extremely dedicated effort to splosh someone with piss. Or rather fake piss but I don’t think he knew that.

And of course the milk incident which I thought I handled wonderfully well but some porkies disagree. When you are quenching the burning thirst by drinking milk from a milk-holding cup thing, then it is but natural that some milk shall be spilt.

Spilt milk.

Cows have got to have cool dreams. Like something tells me that those bastards smoke up on grass every other day and just let their minds float. I think a high cow would be awesome company. Giving stretched out “mooos” every now and then. Turning its head slowly and looking at me with heavy lidded eyes. Or perhaps with a real stupid grin on the face.

It has been a while since I let the sweet leaf (sorry sabbath) enter the blood stream. Feel it take a little place inside my mind. Curled up toes and the feeling of calm. Slowly passing time and the clarity of colours. And the crazy dreams. And of course the munchies.

Come with me for some time, let us talk until we die.

The stretched hands can only reach that far.

And voices can’t do what the touch of skin can.

Come with me for some time, let us talk until we die.

This entry was posted in How would I know?!? and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The story of the torn kurta

  1. anonymusketeer says:

    you need to get married. your wedding will be epic. EPIC. the rare kind of wedding that truly deserves its video. and then you need to blog about it.

  2. I agree with the first comment. Just that I also want 2 be invited….and good food…and …well, endless list.

    And Patna. Been there twice or thrice…really happening city, especially at night. Thats when all the murders and apharans and fodder scams happen. That is one city which knows how to come alive at night, I swear!

  3. eveline says:

    I’m laughing out loud. How do you come up with this stuff? Oh yeah. It’s your LIFE!
    Must’ve been funny as shit! Was there no photographic evidence of it? 😛

  4. Jay says:

    Hah! Finally! Your kurta spiced up my wedding, for sure. 🙂

    You barely saw any of Patna. If you’d hung around for another day and attended the reception, you’d have gotten the fabulous sattu-coated reshmi kebabs…oh, damn, I’m already craving for it!

  5. mentalie says:

    if you were at my wedding, i’d just be grateful you wore clothes to it.

  6. kroswami says:

    @muska: ok. will do.

    Think you might be onto something there. In fact, if you use words such as “synergy” and “convergence” enough, you might actually sell the idea to bharat matrimonEy and blogspot. “Marry and BLOG about it!”. Make ’em millions. Remember to use “synergy” though. Very important.

    @Swayzee: Of course, no worries. Just don’t bring your entire harlem of Playmates along. My family is quite traditional.

    @Ms. Eveline: yeah it is my life and I would not have it any other way. For photographic evidence, scroll up. Otherwise, no I don’t think there are any photos for the other events. Though there are a couple of images in my head of people looking disgusted/shocked/wtf/etc etc

    @Jay-z: Hmm, yeah I should have ventured out a little more na. Anyway, the sattu-coated kebabs shall be had. Some day.

    @Ms Mentalie: I think you, like the rest of the world, has misunderstood me. *sniff sniff*.
    may the chicken leg and neck be photo framed in your khopdi.

  7. Very funny post.. I loved it..
    Do check out here

  8. Rajlakshmi says:

    hahaha 😀 gosh and you put that as header too 😛

  9. Anonymous says:

    There were three of us that raced. How on earth did you guys make that fake pee smell so bad?

Leave a comment