Where the words slip and fall, a bunch of slightly stoned roosters walking on thin ice

Stoned roosters.

Another awesome name for a band. I wish I had skills which were marketable. Some how I don’t think the ability to come up with super-awesome names for bands which will never, ever make it qualifies as a marketable skill.

I wonder what does.

Something in my head got me thinking about phone companies and remember that scene in Pineapple Express where the dude is like “so if this weed made love with this weed and they had a baby….”. And I was just thinking what would happen if Vodafone had sex with Airtel and whether there would a Zoozoo lying somewhere with a content smile on his/her/its face and a cigarette in his/her/its hand. And of course MTS would be all embarrassed (lightening quick you see) and Ranbir Kapoor would make some appearance somewhere dressed up like an old man and coughing and wheezing all over the place.

So my Vodafone net account does not allow me to access wordpress for some strange reason.

I don’t like the fact that telephone wires are so thin and the squiggly, curly ones just really fuck up my mind. I can just imagine the words going into the wires, tossing and turning like some ride in a water park. “Wohhh….wooooohhh….wooooh” and then emerging out from the other telephone all jumbled up and confused.

Of course mobile phones require a completely different set of understanding. Then you have to imagine the words as little supermen who go flying all over the place, really really quick. In fact, if you were to extend the superman analogy then they have to first have to find a telephone booth (ironic?), get rid of their work clothes, then put on the cape AND then zoom off. Man, they must be pretty fucking fast.

If I had only one wish left in the whole world (my taatha left me six gazillion in case you were wondering), it would be to meet the Parle-G girl and just check if she actually looks like that. Hmmmm, parle G (say it like Homer says beer)

hmmmmm…..Paaaaarlay jeeeee

Oh Bombay, why do you do this to me. Because I have spent my earliest years in Bombay, I am almost always trying to fit my memories of the city in the present and this is a difficult thing to do. For instance, I still can’t believe there is no fountain at the Haji Ali circle and I am still amazed at what I can spot over the Tulsi Pipe flyover. And Andheri just shocks me with all its glassy glassy buildings and there are so many cars and so many people and it just feels so different from what I am used to.

I suppose a large part of this disconnect is also based on the fact that I saw Bombay as my city. I was never an inquisitive visitor, I was a resident. Unlike, say Calcutta or even Delhi, I never really bothered to explore Bombay. I was (am?) more content in going back to the places I knew, trace back the memories in my head, rest in the old stories.

Life can be such fascinating concept.

Life. Images. Colours. Smells and tastes. And feelings and words and sounds and hopes and fears and everything tossed into this HUGE glass bottle and shaken (and stirred) and then poured into this magnificent blue sea with gentle waves and bright lights and so much depth that if you look down all you can see are gardens and gardens of blue and blue.

Life of Pi (the movie) is alright I guess. I liked some of the picturisation and Irrfan simply nails the accent but there was something missing. Something.

I leave this city once again and I am packing my bags and that is good because I can’t sit in one place for too long. It is a good thing. Trust me.

 

 

This entry was posted in a puppy dies in somalia, Addi veno, do you really close your eyes when you pee and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where the words slip and fall, a bunch of slightly stoned roosters walking on thin ice

  1. Jazz says:

    //Life can be such fascinating concept.

    Life. Images. Colours. Smells and tastes. And feelings and words and sounds and hopes and fears and everything tossed into this HUGE glass bottle and shaken (and stirred) and then poured into this magnificent blue sea with gentle waves and bright lights and so much depth that if you look down all you can see are gardens and gardens of blue and blue.//

    I sometimes wonder of this too, seems very true. Can I please share it ?

Leave a Reply

